top of page

Treasure Island Museum News

75-04 Museum Announced.JPG

REMAINS TO BE SEEN ~ Surviving Treasures of the Golden Gate International Exposition


a free online program by historian


Anne Schnoebelen 


Saturday, July 27


10:30 a.m.


(you will be emailed a Zoom link to access the presentation)



Some of the glories of Treasure Island 1939-1940 are still with us. Discover what is still here on Treasure Island, and what is scattered here and there, sometimes in the most unlikely places.


It has been 85 years since the close of the Golden Gate International Exposition on September 29, 1940. After 70 years as Naval Station Treasure Island and decades of redevelopment, little is left of the marvel of art, architecture, science and entertainment that comprised Treasure Island in 1939-1940.


But three architecturally unique buildings, including the home of the Treasure Island Museum, are protected on the National Register of Historic Places. And hidden away on the island are sculptures and an enormous terra cotta fountain designed to convey the fair’s theme of “Pacific Unity.” Elements of GGIE art, architecture, horticulture and amusement continue to be discovered around the Bay Area and beyond, including a recent spectacular find. Join us to learn more.


Anne Schnoebelen has been researching the “remains” of the GGIE for several decades and will share her findings. She serves on the board of directors of the Treasure Island Museum.


image:

South Tower, Golden Gate International Exposition

Glenn Dewey Lym photograph, 1939



Comments


Featured Posts

Recent Posts

Archive

bottom of page